I was tangibly reminded this morning that little things can make a big difference.  Yesterday, while delivering newspapers, I couldn’t help but notice how drab the world looked.  The snow was trampled and dirty looking, the trees were naked and the sky was a weary gray.  It snowed most of the day.  Nature seemed to be trying very hard to cover the drab landscape with a fab new white coat.  It wasn’t working though.  The temperature was hovering just around zero or maybe even a little above and the snow was melting instead of accumulating.  Sometime last night though, the temperature dropped just enough for all those wet flakes to turn into powdery snow.

DA and I stepped outside just after midnight and it was like we had been magically transported inside a snow globe.  Drab had turned to fab and all it took was a tiny difference in temperature for it to happen.

I revelled in the beauty of it this morning.  I didn’t get up very early but I must have stepped outside before the rest of the world did because all I could hear was the sound of my own footfalls through all that gorgeous powder and the crackling of the hydro lines up above.  It’s still foreign for this city girl to take in such amazing beauty in dead silence.  I snapped away like crazy with my camera but even my new technology couldn’t really capture just how fab my environment was.  I’ll try again when there’s just a bit more natural light.

Drab to fab.  That’s what I want this year to be for me.  I want to make small changes so that what’s good can become better.  Area number one for change is my devotional life.  It’s been the same for so long that it’s become stale.  I’ve decided to take the daily Bible reading guide that was sent to me by the Canadian Bible Society and actually follow it.  It’s way more random than what I’m used to but maybe that approach will bring my Bible reading to what it should be – an adventure, a feast, fab.

Nature, under God’s direction, gave 2010 a fresh start with that dusting of snow.  I want to follow God’s lead and give my life a bit of a makeover with just a few tweaks here and there.  Stay tuned; it’s going to be a great year!

