I want to enjoy my home.  I spend a lot of time there and it’s important to me that it’s a place I can live with.  I’m always tinkering trying to make things better.   I believe in working slavishly to try and get rooms that I like.  I’m still at the stage where I’m trying.  I expect that one day I’ll get to the place where I feel that I’m succeeding.

One of the hurdles to success is that I always feel compelled to work with what I have.  I won’t spend a dime if I think I have something from who knows where that I can make work somehow.  It’s kind of like a disease, I think, and I’m not sure it’s curable.

Here’s the zero dollar attempt at the main level bath:

DSC_0005_01

I had to step into the shower to get this stellar shot. (LOL!)

I lined my crazy collection of “silverware” art with various green paper (which I have a lot of) and some gift tags I got at the Dollar Store.  It sort of pulls them all together even if they are hung a little crookedly.  (I’ll try to fix that later.)  I then added some of our growing collection of nutcrackers to the mix.  We get a new one every year and I magic marker in the date on the bottom.  To simplify my life, I now buy the first one that goes for half price at Zeller’s.  They always pick one to go on sale in November.  I don’t know why we started this silly trend.  I think it’s because the boys find nutcrackers kind of cool.

I had to laugh when D and P told me it was kind of weird peeing with four little guys staring at them.  I hadn’t thought of that.  They’re only in my range of vision when I enter the bathroom.  Decorating is a matter of perspective.  What was quaint to me was weird to them.

DSC_0002

Everyone is liking this cute Christmas addition.  I had to ditch two houseplants this year and didn’t know what to do with the pots.  Stacked and turned upside down they seemed to make a perfect stool for DA’s Christmas Kermit.  You can’t help but smile when you see this dapper fellow on the stairway.  So far, all perspectives agree.

