Everywhere I go it’s starting to look a lot like Christmas.  I’m liking it.  Though the weather has been fantastic as of late, I’m finding the lack of colour a bit dreary.  Maybe that’s why I’m so drawn to the reds and purples and turquoises of all those ornaments out there.  Since it’s my day off and it was a little drizzly outside and I have some Christmas stuff that I picked up last year after Christmas, I had some fun and started Christmasfying the house.

CSC_0017

My orange dining room got a red tablecloth added to it.  I really like red and orange together.  I also like that my new camera is more truthful than my old one.  My dining room really is this colourful.  I plopped a creamy cake plate on all that joyous red and topped it with a wreath I put together last year from Goodwill bits and some of the many candles I’ve had for years and haven’t lit.

CSC_0016

It makes a festive centerpiece.  Can you tell I’ve been lighting the candles?  Leave me a note saying something like, “Good for you!”.

DSC_0038

Here’s our candlelit meal.  I really like eating by candlelight, even if it’s just the boys and me.

I took the red idea and carried it to the living room.

DSC_0034-1

It could use a little more but already it’s looking more perky and less subdued.  Looking at this picture, I have to admit that I’m sorely tempted to paint that brick surround and replace that brassy fireplace with something that isn’t so…hmmm…brassy?  I love the artichoke heart walls, the creamy furniture and the brown accents and I can live with the punchy reds for the next few months but that pinkish brick and that goldish fireplace look wrong.  I’m not going to bother though.  Never in a million years will I convince my husband.  Can you believe that when I moved into this home the walls in this room were purple?  I’m not talking eggplant here, I’m talking more like magenta.  Yeah, that had to go.  Anyhoo…I digress.

Christmas.  It’s coming.  When it does, I’ll be ready for it.

DSC_0014-1

Yup.  That’s me.  This is what I look like when I’m having fun.  I’m a plain Jane wearing a sweater that exaggerates my hips but with that camera in my hand and some changes to my home to take pictures of, I’m happy as a clam.  I haven’t at all figured out how to best use my new camera but I’m going snap happy everywhere my children aren’t trying to learn its secrets and enjoying every minute of it.

 

 

 

