I have a friend here who is into making cards.  I haven’t seen any of her designs yet but I thought I’d try my hand at making a card for her.  She’s walking a difficult road, one that is all too familiar to me.  A little over a year and a half ago, her husband died of cancer treatment complications.  She is now raising their four year old son on her own.  It’s hard.

I found a quote on-line that was the inspiration for my card.  I really wanted to find a great picture to go with the quote but as hard as I looked, I just couldn’t find what I was looking for.  Frustrated and disappointed, I sat down and drew out my own design from my head.  I NEVER do this.  I thoroughly expected to get even more frustrated and disappointed but somehow I turned out a drawing that I kind of liked.

Here’s the front of the card with inspirational quote on it:

DSC01957

Here’s the part of the design that I like the best:

DSC01956

Hands are tricky to draw.  I was very pleased with how this hand turned out.

Here’s a terrible picture of the inside of the card:

DSC01954

Trials have a way of shaping us, don’t they?  It’s encouraging to know that God is taking the ordinary and using circumstances, even tough ones, to make us extraordinary.

Here’s what’s on the back of the card:

DSC01955

This little piece of art is not a rendition of some other piece of art.  It’s all my own.

I’m grateful for my artistic talent but at times it seems like the most useless talent ever.  I don’t want some portfolio stuffed with artwork that just sits on a shelf.  I’d rather fan the gift and hope that it can be used to encourage and bless others.  This card is an attempt at that.  Let’s hope that it does what it’s intended to do.

