I trotted off to church alone today and came home to bickering boys.  That’s a sure sign that they are feeling better.  They are pretty capable of taking care of themselves now so I turned around and headed outdoors.  There’s no other way to describe today than gorgeous.  The sun is shining.  The sky is blue.  There are no pesky bugs to irritate.  I decided to go for a short walk out back.

DSC01911

I believe that every day holds beauty and I actively seek it out.  I didn’t have to go too far today before I spotted this western conifer seed bug on my mums.  Some day I will have the proper equipment to photograph these guys up close.  They are truly amazing.

DSC01912

Only a few steps further was this lovely ladybug.  Doesn’t he just pop against the blue of my garage door?

DSC01914

I ventured into the woods behind our home.  The forest floor is ankle deep in leaves and with all the light that now penetrates past the tops of the trees, those woods are like a whole new world.   Milkweed seeds are blowing all over the place this time of year and I couldn’t help photographing them.  I have fond memories of those little parachutes from my childhood.

DSC01918

I’ve become a big fan of mushrooms and fungi since moving out here.  I’ve asked DA for an identification book for Christmas.  I’d love to put names to some of the beauties I find.

DSC01938

Isn’t this pretty?  Some of the forest floor is flooded.  The sun shining through makes the neatest shadows and exposes some of Autumn’s more saturated hues.

DSC01939

Look at the dogwood trees in the background.  It’s hard to believe that these red beauties are around all year.  They get kind of hidden in the summer but really add colour in the fall and winter.

DSC01941

I can’t go for a walk these days without taking multiple pictures of my shadow.  I liked this one because my legs look a mile long.

I can’t tell you how much walks like these help me.  Letting my senses drink in beauty enables me to be full of it and we all can testify that out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks.  I can choose to focus on my sick, quarreling children but that’s just going to fill me with irritation and what will flow from my heart to my mouth is complaining.  Sick, cranky kids are a reality right now but I don’t have to let it get to me.  There’s still plenty of beauty around me that I can take in instead and that in turn helps me to be a better mom to those sons who really need a contented mother to carry them through some low moments.

