O.K.  It was my first wedding anniversary yesterday but who wants to blog on their anniversary?  Actually, I probably wouldn’t have minded since DA was at work most of the day but the boys had invited a friend from church over and, since it was raining, spent most of their time monopolizing the computer.  They paused occasionally to burp and fart as loudly and obnoxiously as possible and then laugh hysterically about it and to consume junk food but what with the smell, my disgust and the chaos they left in their wake, I wasn’t much up to writing anyways.

Things got better when DA got home.  He sauntered in with a bouquet of flowers in one hand and a bag of groceries in the other.  He felt bad that he had to work on our anniversary but promised me a nice meal on his day off.  That was today and he made good on his promise.  When DA decides to cook, we never know what to expect.  He’s great in the kitchen and loves to try new things.  Tonight, we sampled rabbit gumbo on a bed of aged basmati rice.  He literally laboured for hours on this meal and his hard work was rewarded.  The meal was delicious.  I’m so spoiled and I know it.

The traditional gift for first anniversaries is paper.  We talked a bit about what we wanted to do and decided to go with tradition.  We made each other homemade cards.  These aren’t just any old cards.  You certainly won’t find anything like them in the aisles of Walmart.  We made special cards for each other, the kind only we would understand.  That’s what I love about them.  I look at the card DA made for me and I know that he understands me better than anyone else.  He looked at my card and a smile played out across his face.  No explanation was needed.  He immediately got what I was trying to communicate in my art work.  It’s just so wonderful to have someone again to share all those secret little things with.

It’s been a while since I’ve been truthfully able to put the words “happy” and “anniversary” together, the way they belong.  It was a happy anniversary and Lord willing there will be many more of them just as special as this first one.

