Normally I like to take pictures of trees.  That wasn’t the case in Eastern Canada.  There it was all about rocks.  Here are some of my favourite snaps.

DSC00123

Most of these pictures were taken at Hopewell Rocks in New Brunswick which boasts the highest tides in the world.  The constant rush of water in and out sculpts the rocks into amazing shapes.  It’s quite a huge space to explore at low tide.  We went earlier in the morning so there weren’t too many people exploring with us.  The big tour buses started pulling in after lunch.  I think it would have been quite a different experience had there been hundreds of people down there with us instead of the handfull that actually were.  I’m glad we got there when we did.

DSC00134

If the sun hit the rocks and beach just right they looked red.  Otherwise they looked kind of a greyish purple colour.  You have to go there according to the tide schedule.  For us, low tide started at about 10:00 a.m.  Later in the year, low tide is much earlier.  It’s then that you can get pictures of the sunrise around the rocks.  That would have been cool.  I was just grateful that we were able to visit such an amazing place in relatively good weather.  It did rain a lot on our trip.

DSC00109DSC00110

Can you see the difference in colour between these shots?  My camera isn’t always great at getting colour right.

DSC00154

This is one of my favourite shots from Hopewell Rocks.  It got the rocks, the clouds and even a tiny person in it so that you can see how immmense these formations really are.

DSC00156DSC00237DSC00239

I cheated a bit on these three shots.  There’s a button on my photo editing system called “warmify”.  It changes the hues making them…well…warmer.  This is how I remember the rocks.  They really were quite reddish.

DSC00247DSC00251

In these two pictures the colour is off but you can see some of the famous flower pot rocks.  It’s quite impressive to see those trees growing way, way up on what is basically just rock.  I wish that these pictures had turned out better.  If I lived closer by, I’d go back and try again.

DSC00254

There were a lot of neat openings in the rocks created by the water.  Those were fun (and popular) spots for photos.

DSC00164DSC00281

When you walk along the beach at Hopewell Rocks, you eventually come to a hug rocky barrier.  There’s a guide there telling you that you can climb over it if you want to.  A lot of tourists don’t because of their age or because of mobility problems.  Not having any such hindrances ourselves, we did clamor over.  On the other side, we found this really cool rock garden created entirely by tourists like ourselves.  Of course, we had to add to it.  (D didn’t build the huge one he’s standing next to.  I just happened to photograph him when he got to that one.)

You could also get a really good look at a place called Daniel’s Flats.  (You can see a bit of it in that second photo.) You can’t walk out there because it’s mud but it’s interesting how the flow of water even affects the muddy bottom.

DSC00055

Hopewell wasn’t the only place we saw beautiful rocks.  That lovely red rocked beach in the above photo was taken at Grand Lake in New Brunswick.  P.E.I also had its share of gorgeous red rocks and cliffs.

DSC00441DSC00452DSC00460

I didn’t alter the colours at all in any of the Prince Edward Island shots above.  I can’t say that my camera captured the hues perfectly but you can tell Canada’s smallest province is big on colour.

DSC00603

This last shot was taken at a campground in Quebec.  It was stunningly beautiful.  I took a lot of pictures out there that were O.K.  This one I really liked.  This is where I sat (with a whole bunch of other campers) to watch a sunset.  It was a perfect setting for an awe-inspiring show.

That’s it!  If you’re into rocks the Maritimes are a good place for you to visit.  I’m not that much into rocks but I’m still not sorry I made the trip.  The East Coast rocks!

