I like to eat and DA loves to cook.  It’s a good combination.  Usually, we take the boys into consideration when planning the menu but on Friday D and P got invited to a pool party.  While I zipped them off to their fun DA started having fun in the kitchen.  He was in the mood for Spanish cuisine and had settled on a paella.  What a treat to have a homecooked meal with just the two of us.

DSC09130

That’s us.  DA is getting used to me snapping pics all the time.  I don’t have a lot of pictures of Louis and that’s something I’m sad about.  I’m determined not to make that mistake again so I’m always trying to get pictures of us doing the most ordinary things together just so I can rejoice in the fact that I have someone who loves me to do ordinary things with.

DSC09118

We chose a lovely Spanish rose to accompany our al fresco meal.

DSC09119

I had never had mussels or clams before so this meal was a bit of an adventure for me.  DA had never cooked with saffron, the world’s most expensive spice, before so it was a bit of an adventure for him too.

DSC09127

Can you tell from what was left that this meal was a winner?  Yeah.  I can get into mussels and clams (and escargot and imported Spanish chorizo sausage and jumbo shrimp and chicken thighs too – this paella had them all!)

