I’ve been working on my art entry for the bird category for the upcoming fall fair.  The first attempt, pencil crayon and marker on art paper, didn’t turn out so spectacularly.  Here’s attempt #2, a toucan made out of scrap coloured paper.

DSC08843

I’ve seen illustrations like this in children’s books and thought it would be fun to try.  I have a new respect for artists who papercraft.  This type of art requires precision and forethought.  My bird is pretty simplistic but there were several parts that I had to measure and cut twice.  Sometimes I would forget to add a tab so that it could be glued to the whole and other times the piece I drew and thought would fit didn’t.

DSC08839

This isn’t an amazing piece of art but I like it for its simplicity and bright colours and for the challenge it was to craft.

