“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

That’s apparently a misinterpretation of a quote by Lao Tzu but it’s one that I like very much.  Sometimes the realization of a goal or dream seems far, far away but by turning oneself in the right direction and taking even a single step one is that much closer to one’s destination.  One step can lead to another and if one continues one can actually do what once seemed impossible.  One can actually traverse that thousand miles.

I have some simple dreams that I am trying to accomplish.  One of them is to have a beautiful home.  By beautiful I don’t necessarily mean something that would be featured in Better Homes and Gardens.  I mean something that is functional, clean, organized and comfortable.  I want my sons to be able to invite their friends over without having to apologize for the place we live in.  I want my husband to come home from work and find the house a haven, a place he can kick back and relax in.  I want friends and family and even strangers to be able to come in and feel invited and at ease. I want the place I spend so much time in to bring me great joy.

The easiest path to achieving this would be to hire Sarah Richardson to come and do it all for me.  I’ve learned that the easiest path isn’t always the best one.  I plan to reach this destination one step at a time and really enjoy the journey.  I know that it will be a lengthy one.  I won’t get there in a day or a week or even a year.  I will get there little by little.

My parents came for the weekend to celebrate my birthday with me.  A little job that’s been on the list for some time got done and I’m loving it.  The light fixture that I found at 50% off at the ReStore and carefully painted black replaced the boob light in our bedroom yesterday.  It’s a little thing but in my mind it totally improves the room.  It was just one more step in the right direction.

dsc07876

I also put some tulips in that chamber pot I painted.  Another little step towards my destination I think.

dsc07897

You have to see these blooms in the warm glow my camera sometimes gives.  So pretty.

dsc07899

I probably still have about 500 miles to go in this room but I’m getting there.  Slowly but surely I’m getting there.  Step by step I’m getting there.

