I can’t seem to sleep.  Last night I was cold and just couldn’t warm up for ever so long.  It helped when DA came to bed in the wee hours of the morning after work but even after sapping heat from him I still found myself lying awake.  I didn’t want to toss and turn and keep him up so I quietly snuck out with my favourite sleeping bag in hand and tried to catch some zzz’s on the couch.  I dozed fitfully but morning came all too soon.

Thankfully, today was an easy one.  I’m one of those people that really need their sleep.  I was in a bit of a fog for most of the morning and afternoon but got some simple things done and found my eyelids getting heavy after supper while reading a book.  I told DA that I just wanted a brief nap.  That was hours ago.  I still can’t seem to fall asleep.  My wounded thumb is healing nicely but throbbing despite the heavy duty Tylenol I’ve taken.  My “crazy legs” are restless and twitching insanely.  The world around me goes on despite my insomnia.  P has a friend sleeping over for the night.  I can hear them giggling upstairs.  DA and D have found a guy movie to watch together.  They’re munching on cheesies, happily camped out in front of the T.V.

My mind is on ideas in the latest George Macdonald I’ve been reading.  Ideas of thankfulness no matter what one is experiencing.  I suppose that includes an inability to sleep too.  I AM thankful – thankful that no one is really dependent on me right now.  I can go along in my sleep deprived stupor and no one is the worse off for it.  I’ve never had so much leisure time in my life as I have had this year.  The weather is getting warmer and DA took me outside to hear the frogs screaming their little heads off.  What a joyous racket they make when they wake up.  While laying awake on the couch, I saw the moon rise.  It looks full and beautiful.  Small blessings but ones that I can count as my own.

I really wanted to write something profound on Good Friday.  This  morning’s church message and the Passion story have also been on my mind.  Nothing insightful or inspiring is coming.  I am thinking about good things though and I am thankful that I know the Truth.  Had you told me a few years ago that life would be this peaceful and easy, I would have hardly dared to believe it.  I have known very different times.  The verse that keeps coming to mind is “Give thanks for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus”.  That was a tough one just a few years ago.  My how things have changed!  So, thank you Jesus for sticking with me through the trying times.  Thank you for giving me the good days I’m having now.  And thank you even for sleeplessness and the forced slowing down of my self-induced busyness so that I can think upon these things.

