running

I’m into week two of learning to run.  (That’s not me in the picture just a cool shot of what I hope I look like when I’m running.)  The important part is that I am running.  This week I’m doing a five minute warm up followed by two minutes of running, then six minutes of power walking, two more minutes of running, six more minutes of power walking and then a cool down.  It doesn’t sound like much when you’re typing it out for a blog but when you’re actually pounding the pavement two minutes is a lot.  Well, it’s a lot if you’ve always been unathletic like me.

Ideally I’d like to run Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings.  Life is rarely ideal.  On Monday it snowed and the wind was brutal.  That run got pushed back to Tuesday afternoon.  The good thing about that is DA came along.  He’s not a runner but he’s a good walker.  He continued walking when I ran.  When I asked him how I looked running, he said, “You looked good – like a real runner.”  You may think it’s just flattery but I don’t think DA could lie to save his life.  He’s very, very honest.  If you’re just starting out running like I am, I strongly recommend taking someone you love along.  I’m sure I went faster just because my sweetie was watching.

Today’s run didn’t go exactly as planned either.  It was raining this morning.  It stopped around four in the afternoon so I pushed myself to get out there and get on schedule.  It’s a lot easier to run in the morning.  I wasn’t sure I was going to even make it to the end of the first two minute run but then the sun broke through the clouds and the road ahead of me just glowed and was all misty and dreamy like.  That really helped me to get past my tiredness and keep going.

I can’t tell you how good I feel doing this.  Each time I run, I go just a little bit further.  I’m actually doing this!  I wanted to write this entry just for me.  One day when I’m entered in a 5k race, I’m going to come back to this blog page and smile.  It’s hard getting started but I’m thrilled to bits with my progress.  I can hardly wait for next week when I move up to three minutes.  This is SO unlike me.  You would never look at me and think, “She must be a runner”.  I don’t look like the woman in the photo.  Doesn’t matter.  I can still be a runner.

