A couple of months ago, I wrote a “bucket list” of sorts.  I’m not planning on kicking the bucket anytime soon but I know that one day I will so I wrote down 100 things I would like to do in my lifetime.  I’m happy to say that I already have a number of items with check marks beside them.

The words beside #1. on my list were “Learn to run”.  I’ve always secretly envied people who get up early and go running.  I used to think that it would be cool if I could be one of those people but then I would go through a list of reasons why that could never be.  No more.  I’ve decided that I will be one of those people and to prove it I went on-line and googled “how to learn to run”.  There are some very helpful sites out there.  They all start with “buy a good pair of running shoes.”  I did that with my first paper route money.  Be proud of me.  These shoes have never been used (not even gently), they didn’t come from Walmart, Zellers or Liquidation World and they weren’t even on sale.  These were pricey shoes from a sports store.  And I bought them.

runners

The site I’m trying out suggested walking five minutes to get sufficiently warmed up, running one minute, walking  vigorously seven minutes (to keep my heart rate up), running another one minute, walking vigorously another seven minutes and then doing a five minute cool down walk.  All this is to be done three times in a week.  I’m happy to say that this week has had six minutes.  Six minutes of running that is.  Not only do I have real running shoes but I’ve started running in them.  Next week the ratio changes to 2:6 (two minutes of running for six minutes of vigorous walking).  The ratio keeps changing every week until by week eight I’m only running (except for the warmup and cool down).

You know what the really cool thing about all this is?  I don’t care if anyone sees me, laughs at me, tells me I’m nuts, etc.  This is about me doing something I want to do.  Man, it feels good to not have to worry about what I think someone else is thinking about me.  Let them think, let them chuckle, let them say what they will – I’m doing it.  I’m achieving a dream.

