I saw something called a “wordle” on a friend’s blog and decided to look into it.  A wordle is sort of a word cloud made up of the words of whatever text you choose.  I decided to try it out on Proverbs 31:10-31 using the New Living Translation.  This is what I got:

dsc06849

I like this program because the more often a word is used in a text, the larger it appears on the wordle.  One look and you can tell that the Proverbs 31 woman is all about her husband, household and about making.  I like that the wordle is so busy with words because I think that’s a true representation of this woman.  She is capable, virtuous and industrious.

This is what I got when I tried Psalm 23 in the Contemporary English Version:

dsc06851

Again it’s really easy to see that the main jist of the Psalm is the Lord leading us for life.  I like how the visual representation of this beautiful passage of Scripture fills the space.  It kind of says to me that the Lord is in everything in our lives.

This is what I got when I entered the URL for this blog:

dsc06844

It’s really wordy just like me!  I like that some of the big words that stand out are table, family, together and make ( I have that word in common with the Proverbs 31 woman.  Score one for me!)

This is an interesting tool.  I think it could be use to make some cool wall art.  You’ll have to forgive my representation of it.  There is a way to transpose wordles to blogs but it seemed long and complicated so I just took pictures of my computer screen to save myself some head ache.  If you want to give it a try with your own text go here.

