Before our basement flooded, DA was going through his boxes deciding what to keep, what to store and what to get rid of.  One of the things that quickly went into the discard pile were some old vinyl records he had unearthed.  We never finished the unpacking job, so the discard pile ended up out in the garage with a bunch of other stuff.   This is temporary.  Eventually our basement will be put back together, I’ll do a dump at the Goodwill Store and we’ll get back to our old organized selves.

Since the vinyl records have stayed around longer than originally intended, I thought I’d try an idea that’s been simmering in the back of my congested head.  Yes.  I’ve been nursing a sore throat for the past few days and now my head feels like a balloon.  Wisely, I decided to stay home today and just do what needs doing and not much else.  I’m not sick enough to be in bed but I’m under the weather enough to give myself permission to totally take it easy.  The vinyl record project I had in mind wasn’t at all labour intensive so I went for it.

dsc06807

First I covered the center parts of the records with blue and white cardstock.  I wanted all 12 records to look uniform.

dsc06808

Then I got my level out and stuck them to the big wall behind my bed.  The measuring was a bit much for my stuffed head but sticking records onto a wall with tape isn’t really all that difficult.  I just wanted to see if I could make a big, modern piece of art for that large wall without spending any money.  (I already had the cardstock and the tape.)

dsc06804

I don’t like what I’ve produced but I’m glad I tried it.  The idea is now out of my head and I can scratch it as one that I doesn’t work for me.  Hopefully the tape will hold until DA gets home from work.  I’d like to see his expression and hear his comments on this latest effort.  DA is 100% honest so I know I’ll get the truth from him.

For the record  (ha! ha!), I looked on-line for project ideas with vinyl records and found that they can be melted to make bowls.  It’s pretty cool.  You simply put the record on top of an overturned oven-proof bowl and pop the whole thing in the oven.  I can’t remember the temperature or the length of time but the record folds neatly into four pleats.  You can then take it out and manipulate it some more while it’s still warm.  Eventually, it will cool and stay in the shape it’s been melted to.  I haven’t tried it myself and I’m not sure that I will but if you have old vinyl records kicking around, there are ways to use them.  I did see a picture of someone’s attempt to use this idea to make a Salvador Dali type of look.  It’s not a look I like but I love how creative people are with stuff that other wise would end up in a landfill somewhere.

