The world as far as I could see was enveloped in a thick fog this morning.  It was such a pretty picture of my life.  I’ve been living here in Washago for almost a year now and although I love it I still wonder why I’m here.  I can’t really see an answer to that just like I couldn’t see very far this morning.

dsc06702

I have never had so much time on my hands.  I do all sorts of little projects that amuse me.  I’m not at all unhappy.  It just doesn’t seem like anything I do matters very much.

I wandered out in the fog this morning to ask yet again what it is that I am supposed to be doing.  The verse that keeps ringing inside my head is the one that goes, “He who is faithful in little will also be faithful in much.”  Until I am led further, I will try to be faithful in the little things at hand.  I will diligently work at making my home a beautiful haven just in case the Lord may have need of it.  I will continue to look for ways to connect to my growing sons in case that little extra input turns the tide in their lives.  I will invest in my marriage for it shows great potential to be something of uncommon beauty and one never knows when the Lord will have need of that.  I will work on cultivating a cheery disposition and having an encouraging word on my tongue in case the Lord can use my smile or that kind word to make someone’s day.  I will endeavor to eat well, exercise and maintain my health in the event that the Lord may have need of my energy for some project.  To date, my life is made up of a thousand little things that don’t seem like much but perhaps together they are more than the sum of their parts.  I look forward to the day the sun breaks through the fog and I have that “aha” moment when everything makes sense.  Until then, I will press on with the little things and enjoy the slower paced life that has been handed to me for a season.

