I have no empirical evidence to back this up but I suspect that people who have  accomplished beautiful things dared at some point to do this:

dsc06487

I found a couple of quotes about dreaming to inspire me to do a little more of it.

Pope John XXIII said,

Consult not your fears but your hopes and your dreams.  Think not about your frustrations, but about your unfulfilled potential.  Concern yourself not with what you tried and failed in, but with what is still possible for you to do.

And someone named Oq Mandino coined the following:

The victory of success is half won when one gains the habit of setting goals and achieving them.  Even the most tedious chore will become endurable as you parade through each day convinced that every task, no matter how menial or boring, brings you closer to fulfilling your dreams.

I have a lot more time on my hands than I have had for a very long time.  So, I’m dreaming.

Here’s my dream list to date, in no particular order:

  1. Learn to run.
  2. Write a book.
  3. Refinish a piece of furniture properly.
  4. Tour Martha Stewart’s home.
  5. Plan and host a wedding shower.
  6. Make my own Christmas cards and have them turn out beautifully.
  7. Create a piece of art that I’d be proud to display.
  8. Become a bereavement counselor.
  9. Get down to 110 lbs. and stay at that weight for one year (or forever!)
  10. Plan a fundraiser and raise enough money to buy a stable out of the World Vision catalog.
  11. Develop a budget for on-going home improvement.
  12. Enter a photo I took in a contest.
  13. Stop chewing up my cuticles.
  14. Sew something that I would wear or display in my home.
  15. Help a single mom.
  16. Hike all the trails at Algonquin Park.
  17. Drive to the east coast of Canada.
  18. Make a garden plan.
  19. Grow my hair long again and have it permed.
  20. Wear contact lenses.
  21. Learn to use power tools.
  22. Sing a solo in front of an audience.
  23. Collect napkin rings unashamedly.
  24. Own fine china.
  25. Memorize a book of the Bible.
  26. Be able to bicycle for an hour or more.
  27. Buy something that is regular price and not feel guilty about it.
  28. Fall asleep with the radio on.
  29. Create a vegetable garden in the back yard.
  30. Host a themed dinner party.
  31. Pray and fast on a regular basis.
  32. Splurge on a foot massage.
  33. Start skipping for exercise.
  34. Learn to speak Dutch.
  35. Redo high school math.
  36. Own a cool belt.
  37. Learn to dance.
  38. Compose a poem.
  39. Hire a professional photographer to do family photos.
  40. Visit a third world country.
  41. Learn to type more than 40 words per minute.
  42. Go white water rafting.
  43. Go to the U.S. just to tour flea markets.
  44. Be a volunteer on Extreme Home Makeover.
  45. Meet a child I’ve sponsored.
  46. Volunteer at a nursing home.
  47. Visit New Zealand.
  48. Join a horticulture group.
  49. Redesign an entire room from the ground up.
  50. Light candles outdoors.
  51. Host a tea party.
  52. Design and build a piece of furniture.
  53. Learn how to barbecue.
  54. Find my own Lothlorien.
  55. Go a year without eating chips or drinking pop.
  56. Understand calculus.
  57. Go to the top of the CN tower.
  58. Tour a real European castle.
  59. Star gaze at night in a planetarium.
  60. Work at an archive.
  61. Celebrate an anniversary with a weekend get-away.
  62. Teach an adult to read.
  63. Take a mud bath at a spa.
  64. Take swimming lessons.
  65. Complete a 10k race.
  66. Make someone else’s dream come true.
  67. Become a Big Sister to some needy girl.
  68. Witness a healing miracle.
  69. Learn to install trim and molding.
  70. Hand out toys to impoverished children.
  71. Buy fresh flowers when there is no occasion to.
  72. Arrange a romantic picnic in the woods.
  73. Get my colours done.
  74. Get the words for the song “On Top of Spaghetti”.
  75. Subscribe to Martha Stewart Living.
  76. Find a sport I really like.
  77. Host a Rummikub night.
  78. Employ a fashionista to help me buy a new wardrobe.
  79. Enter an art contest.
  80. Go on a personal retreat weekend.
  81. Host a Bollywood night.
  82. Scrapbook my wedding photos.
  83. Bless someone anonymously.
  84. Stay at a luxury hotel.
  85. Do a road trip.
  86. Create a calendar of photographed shoes.
  87. Start a gourmet club.
  88. Own and use a birthday calendar.
  89. Go for a professional bra fitting.
  90. Show up at my friend’s house in B.C. and surprise her.
  91. Try aquafitness.
  92. Break loose during worship even if everyone else isn’t.
  93. Collect shells by the ocean.
  94. Distress a piece of furniture.
  95. See a glacier in real life.
  96. Catch a really big fish.
  97. Make a friend who has a different ethnicity, orientation and/or religion than myself.
  98. Host a tacky Christmas gift exchange.
  99. Write a memorable quote.
  100. Submit something for publication in a magazine.

Whew!  100 things that I would like to do.  Now I need to pay heed to a quote by Tom Bradley:

The only thing that will stop you from fulfilling your dreams is you.

