Last year I bought a Christmas tree for the first time.  I’ve enjoyed decorating it this year but I want it to be more than a seasonal embellishment.  I want it to be something that I can look at and be reminded of God’s goodness to me.  Last year I started making my tree a memory tree.  I bought a house ornament and wrote the date and its significance on the bottom.  We moved into our gorgeous home last year and I’m so thankful for it.  I look at that ornament and give thanks to God for this house and also pray for those who are not as fortunate and find themselves homeless.

This year I bought another special ornament.  I was blessed to get married in October to a wonderful man and it’s something I want to give thanks for this year and for many years to come.

fall2008-7202

Our wedding photo is permanently affixed to this pretty white frame and on the back is written some pertinent information just in case these “special” ornaments get passed down as family heirlooms.

fall2008-7221

It was hard to get a good picture of it in the tree so you’ll have to believe me that it looks really nice even if it only looks mediocre in the following photos.

fall2008-738fall2008-7231

I think that I will now pray for those who are struggling with homelessness and also those who are feeling very alone this Christmas.  I spent many years as a single when I really wanted to be a couple so it is something that is near and dear to my heart.  I look forward to the years to come and what they will hold and how they will show up on this memory tree.

