DA headed off to work this morning and P got deposited at a birthday party.  That left D and I to hang out together and do some bargain hunting.  We both wanted to go to Liquidation World as we had heard that they were having sales on the hour, every hour.  D had his eye on a poker set and I went open minded hoping to find some amazing treasure or other.  We went our separate ways and then met up to see what we had found.  D was all excited because he found an even better poker set than the one he had spotted before and because the stickers had been ripped off the case, a sales person said it was only $5.  He scooped it up and whispered to me that the same set at Wal-Mart was $30.  He didn’t care that the packaging was imperfect.  The contents were all there and he was thrilled with his deal.  Me?  I had found the perfect napkins for my gold Christmas dinner and they had a black slash through the original price meaning they were 30% reduced.  When I showed D my find he looked at me as only a twelve year old boy can and stated matter of factly, “Mom, I think you’re the only person who can get excited about napkins.”  Perhaps.

I didn’t quite get to my napkins for dinner but while my chicken enchiladas were cooking, I couldn’t help throwing together a quick tablescape.  When I rang the dinner bell, this is what met the boys:

fall2008-7041

They gave me that look and said, “We’re having clementines for supper?”  I explained to them that I had bought new clementines and wanted to have the old ones eaten so I decided to put dessert out first.  They then looked at me and said, “So why are the clementines on those funny spoons?”  To which I replied, “Because they look nice on these spoons.”  Their faces told me that they thought I was nuts.  That was confirmed when the words spilled out of their mouths moments later.

Since I had a little time before DA came home for dinner, I thought that I would add a cleverly folded napkin to his setting.  I didn’t use one of my new napkins.  I practiced on an old one and came up with this:

fall2008-706

If you saw this

fall2008-703

or this

fall2008-708

what would it say to you?  That someone loves you?  Or wow, this mama is nuts?  Why can’t mamas and the guys they love spreken the same langue, eh?

