Another on-line site that I like to peruse is The Nesting Place.  The Nester, like myself, likes to repurpose things and her motto is “It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful”.  I like that.  Almost nothing that I create is perfect and yet I like to think that I can add beauty to my surroundings in spite of that.  Recently she posted a blog about creating a Christmas garland for her fireplace mantle.  I now have a mantle and thought that I might have just enough stuff to pull off a Christmas garland for it.

I started with some greenery left behind by the previous owners.  It was easy to string up because the previous owners had also put a couple of nails in the fireplace mantle.  Those previous owners!  I wonder if they know how they’ve blessed me!  Once a couple of the skinny green garlands were strung I just started adding things like the Nester did.  No glue.  No nothing.  I just stuck pine cones and fake leaves and flowers and whatever I could find in the skinny green garland to fill it out a bit.  This is what I ended up with:

fall2008-612

I was inspired by another friend to already put my creche out.  I wanted it front and central so that I could really think about Jesus and why He came.  For the first time ever I was able to string up a star above the stable.  If you look at the mirror closely, you can see that I angled the track lighting in that room to shine on the star.  It looks cool with the lights on.  Check it out:

fall2008-646

That star shines brightly right above the stable!

I got my nativity characters at the Dollar Store a few years ago.  Even though they aren’t very expensive, I really like them.

fall2008-621fall2008-623fall2008-622

They are a visual reminder of the story I want to be reflecting on.

I got the angels a few years ago too well after the Christmas season and heavily marked down.  They kind of remind me that though the story took place on earth, heaven was very much involved.

fall2008-618

The prettied up garland just kind of underlines the specialness of the story.

fall2008-627

Under the mantle, in a place that isn’t totally front and central, I added a few embellishments too.

fall2008-577

I wanted a little vignette highlighting a big blessing in my life this year.

The mantle may still get a little tweaking before Christmas but I think I’m off to a good start decorating it.

