I like to visit a site called Between Naps on the PorchThe woman who writes this blog shows tablescapes every Tuesday and invites others to display their dressed up tables as well.  She has an amazing amount of china and really knows how to put it together with her vast assortment of pretty accoutrements to make spectacular looking table masterpieces.  I don’t know how she stores all the things she uses but I like how she puts things together.  Since I had my neighbour coming over for lunch, I decided to try my own tablescape today.

I started with my navy napkins.  I layed two down on the table as placemats.  On top of those I put heart shaped doilies that I found after Valentine’s Day years ago.  They were only twenty-four cents for a package of twelve and today they really helped to make my table look a little more feminine.  Then came my ordinary white dishes that I bought place setting by place setting years ago by saving stickers at the grocery store.  They aren’t fine china but they are practical and easy to dress up.  If I have learned anything from Tuesday Tablescapes, it’s that dishes look pretty stacked up.  I have a set of four aqua glass dishes that were part of a wedding gift the first time I got married.  They aren’t practical but they added a layer and some colour to my creation.  On top of those came some more navy napkins, folded up prettily and secured with my eggplant napkin rings.  If I could collect anything, it would be napkin rings.  They can take a place setting from ho-hum to gorgeous.  Here’s the picture of what I just described:

fall2008-6072

Here’s the setting from a different angle so you can see those pretty aqua glass dishes:

fall2008-5912

I used a couple more of those not so practical dishes to hold the desserts and my vegetables:

fall2008-5921fall2008-6101

fall2008-6111

Personally, I think that a pretty table setting tells your guests that they are special and worth the effort.  I hope that is how my guest felt today!

