I love to shop off-season.  When a holiday ends, I like to go out and scoop up pretty stuff drastically marked down for clearance.  I started dreaming of Christmas already in January when I saw lots of gold-coloured stuff in the reduced bins.  The fact that there was a lot less to choose from made the decision making process so much easier.  I’m excited about bringing out my golden treasures that have been boxed up for almost a year.  The rest of the household doesn’t care so much, so I’m exposing them to the goods slowly.  Yesterday, this came out:

fall2008-449

Today the decor spread a little from the kitchen to the dining room.

fall2008-453

I think this will look much more striking with the white tablecloth on and the gold chargers underneath the white plates.  I’d love to get/make some black tablerunners to offset the gold and maybe put some red pointsettia napkin rings around some black napkins that I don’t yet own.  Hmmm…  At least my dreams of a gold Christmas are starting to materialize.

