I’ve been getting more bold with painting projects lately.  For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been tackling this:

It’s a very pretty jewellery box that was given to me as a gift.  I’ve never had a jewellery box before.  That’s probably because I don’t have a lot of jewellery.  I absolutely loved this one except for its colour.  Actually, that’s not true.  I love the colour.  It just doesn’t go with the black/cream/white/ice blue colour scheme I am shooting for in my master bedroom.   So…I thought that I would paint it with that popular Aura “black black” paint I have.  It now looks like this:

Had I taken the time to think how difficult this project would be, I don’t think I would have taken it on.  There are all kinds of nooks and crannies (not to mention velvet parts in the interior) to be navigated with a brush and that proved to be quite a challenge.

I still love this box and now it will fit in nicely with my intended colour scheme.  Can’t wait to get furniture in this room so that you can see this “black beauty” on something other than my ironing board.

