Remember my spray-painted light bulb from yesterday?

Adding more spray paint didn’t make it any better so I tried something else.  If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again and then tell people about it so they won’t have to make the same mistakes you just made.  If I was smart I’d research first, get the stuff I need and then do things right the first time.  I’m way too impatient and cheap to do things the smart way.  I don’t want to spend money.  I want to figure things out all on my own and feel like I’m smarter than those smart people who depend on others to find things out for them.  I’m the one who wants to find a very good way for a fraction of what the other people spend.  Well…I’m not there yet.

What I tried was to cover my gold painted globe with ordinary school glue (which I have in abundance) and then top that with decorative sand (which I also have some of).

That made my light bulb look remarkably like a painted styrofoam ball.  I didn’t really want a blue ornament so I then spray painted the whole thing with more of that gold spray paint.

Once that was dry I found some ribbon, a fake gold leaf and a fake red berry and just tied them on the top.  This is what attempt #1 at a homemade Christmas ornament from a light bulb ended up looking like:

I’m not exactly thrilled with the result.  I still have four more light bulbs awaiting treatment.  Hopefully, I’ll come up with something a little better for #2.  Stay tuned!

