I found out on the internet that an old Dutch custom at weddings was to have a wishing tree.  Guests at the marriage would write wishes for the bride and groom and attach them to a special tree.  After a lot of hmmming and hawing, I decided to try to make a wishing tree.

I started out by finding a branch out back and painting it pink with some paint the previous owners left behind.  This was just to see if I liked the idea of how it looked or not.  Now that I’ve decided I do like it, I think I will buy some dark pink spray paint and make this project a wee bit easier to replicate.

Once the branch was mostly dry, I put it in a pink plastic cup from the Dollar Store and used molding clay to make it stand up.  The clay is stuff from the Dollar store that I had bought years ago for some homeschool project.  It worked perfectly.  I covered up the clay with some balled up paper and then covered that with some Dollar Store glittery gems.  Then I tied the bow around the cup.  If you guessed that I got the ribbon at the Dollar Store, you’re very intuitive;  I did.  I then placed the cup on a circle cut out of a matching Dollar Store plastic placemat and sprinkled some of those glittery gems around it.  You have to imagine this on a crisp white tablecloth instead of on my dining room floor.  The different patterns of pink will come out much more nicely against white than brown I think.

Around each wishing tree I will place pieces of paper, pretty pencils and dark pink coloured clothespins.  I hope that each guest will write a prayer, a wish or a piece of advice on those pieces of paper and then stick their words on the tree with the clothespins.

I will put one wordy piece up on each tree that just gives some fun wedding trivia on it.  Hopefully, that will amuse the guests sitting around each tree and will spur some interesting conversation at each table.  Each tree will be unique with some different trivia on it.

Unfortunately, the lighting was really bad for these photos and you can’t make out what’s on my pink-edged addition to the tree.  If you could read it you’d know the length of the longest train for a wedding dress, the length of the longest engagement on record and the record for the most vows taken by one couple.

