I want to make my own desserts for my wedding.  I really like baking and have some ideas of what I would like to make.  I am in the testing stage right now.  I made these carrot cupcakes with cream cheese icing last week:

The taste was good but the presentation was a little lacking.  I may try to make a carrot wedding cake since I love, love, love carrot cake with cream cheese icing.  I’ve been looking on-line for wedding cake ideas and have found them in plentitude.  I can hardly wait to try making a tiered cake.  I’m sure my boys can hardly wait either.  They’ll likely be eating the results of my experimentation.  If I do get this cake built though, it will first have to show up on the blog and then I will have to experiment transporting it.  Fun, fun, fun!

I heard sometime back that the difference between a four star restaurant and a five star establishment is presentation.   Doesn’t that cake plate just elevate these humble cupcakes to something more grand?  If you have a cake plate, pull it out.  It really can make your dish or dessert stand out as something more special than maybe it is.

Here’s a recipe that got the thumbs-up from me and DA:

They are jam-topped mini cheesecakes.  They look pretty, taste yummy and are very easy to make.  I topped them with blackcurrent pomegranite jam because that’s what I happen to have in the fridge.  They could be topped with any flavour of jam and look and taste great.  Here’s the recipe for anyone that wants a simple but elegant dessert option:

1 cup graham cracker crumbs

3 tbsp. butter, melter

1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened

1/3 cup sugar

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 tsp. vanilla extract

assorted jams, warmed

In a bowl, combine graham cracker crumbs and butter.  Press gently onto the bottom of 12 paper-lined muffin cups.  In a small mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth.  Spoon over crusts.

Bake at 350 for 15-16 minutes until centre is set.  Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack to cool completely.  Refrigerate for at least one hour.  Remove paper liners; top each cheesecake with one tsp. jam.  Yield:  1 dozen.

