When I first moved to this house, I was all excited to have main-floor laundry facilities.  The previous owners took their washer and dryer with them.  That had me pretty excited too.  It meant that I could buy these:

This is the first time that I have had a matching washer and dryer and even modern front-loaders to boot!  My enthusiasm dampened a bit when the new models didn’t quite fit in the kitchen alcove where they were slotted to go.  The bi-fold doors that used to hide the laundry centre had to come off.  That meant that my laundry centre would be front and center for everyone who came into my kitchen to see.

I wasn’t too thrilled with that idea so I put up cheap curtains to cover the less than beautiful alcove with it’s dilapidated shelves and very holey walls.  It looked like this:

Actually, it usually looked worse.  There was a lot of stuff piled on those shelves.  I tried putting all the stuff in blue Ikea bins that I had but it really didn’t improve the look of this spot at all.  My best tactic was to close the curtains and pretend that it really wasn’t all that bad.  From this picture, you can’t see all the holes in the wall.  Take a look at these close-ups:

Well, that room had me singing the blues every time I did laundry (which seems like every day in the summer!)  Take a look at what a little paint and sprucing up did to this area:

This is what it looked like about 15 minutes after these photos:

I can live with that.  I’m not singing the blues anymore looking at my laundry facility.  Who can feel down with all that sunny yellow and that placard reminding you to “Give thanks for simple blessings”?  Not this country mama.

