From time to time, I like to take out home decorating magazines from the library.  I love looking at page after glossy page of beautifully decked out houses.  You would think that all that gazing would make me incredibly covetous but I find it has quite a different effect on me.  I feel a little sorry for these well-to-do people and their fancy designer living spaces.

One of the things I enjoy doing most is decorating my own lovely home on a shoe-string budget.  I love the thrill of the hunt for bargains and trying to make what I already do have work.  It was a lot of fun for me to pick up old siver trays and repurpose them as wall art for my trendy bathroom.  I have been having a great time laying black and white tiles in the “extra” room downstairs.  I can’t imagine it would be nearly as exciting if I just forked over a lot of money and let someone else do it.  I was pleasantly surprised today when I went to Zellers for boy’s underwear and bug spray and found three ceramic planters for my living room plants for just over $20.  On top of that, I collected dividend points and HBC points.  I doubt that would be very interesting for people who can afford $13, 000 sofas and accent cushions at $125 each.  I love the silver candlesticks I got at a Goodwill 50% off sale and I’m still glowing with anticipation over the new light fixture I just picked up at a salvage store for a scant $10.  Then, there’s the blue and white vase my mother-in-law gave me when she downsized from a house to an apartment.  It didn’t seem to go anywhere until I saw it in a new light.  It now makes a gorgeous toilet brush holder in my upstairs bathroom.  I wonder if the rich people in those magazines miss out on such joyous little discoveries because they have enough to pay a designer to do it all for them.  Poor people!  I’m not sure they’re living nearly as good a life as I am.

