“Love keeps no record of wrongs.”  That’s a phrase from the Bible that comes up from time to time in our home, usually when the boys are having a tiff and I find that they are bringing up stuff from the recent (and distant!) past that should have been forgiven and forgotten long ago.  I’d like to think that I am an expert at not keeping a record of wrongs but I’m not.  Just recently, I felt slighted by someone and it really offended me.  I was so upset I didn’t even want to talk with the individual.  I wanted him to suffer from my cold shoulder treatment.  We did talk.  He apologized for what he did and explained some of the circumstances around why he made the choice he did.  It wasn’t just to hurt me.  That was a good conversation but I found it hard to let go of the incident.  I kept replaying it in my mind even after our talk.  Surely, this rewind and replay of the mind is how a record of wrongs is imprinted indelibly in the memory.  Anyone who saw me while I was thinking like this surely would have seen a clouded face and a furrowed brow.  I really wanted to tell my friends all about the incident and also about my response to it.  I wanted to be consoled by others.  I was feeling sorry for myself because of it.  This telling I’m sure would have more surely sealed the wrong in my mind.

Thankfully, I have the Spirit of God and His still small voice did come through reminding me that in Christ I get to choose what I think about.  Being a Christian, it’s possible to take thoughts captive to the obedience of Christ.  I knew that my thoughts were not in line with His and that I needed to change.  I began to silently call out to Him right where I was – in the grocery store.  It was tough to stop hitting the rewind and replay button in my mind.  That’s what came naturally.  God did help me to think along His line – those things that are pure, lovely, truthful, of good repute, etc.  I was even able, by the power of God, to think loving thoughts of the person who had slighted me.  I was reminded of his good characteristics and was enabled to see him through Christ’s eyes. 

The incident isn’t completely forgotten in my mind but it’s not as vivid as it was.  It’s definitely fading.  Already I am wondering why I made such a big deal of it.  It’s not worth discussing with anyone else.  In Christ, I can forgive and even forget such small slights.  A record of wrong doesn’t have to be written out in my memory.  Through Him, I can approach this individual and start afresh with a clean slate.  What freedom to not have to carry around past offenses!

  

