trees-165.jpg

Eeyore, the old grey Donkey, stood by the side of the stream, and looked at himself in the water.  “Pathetic,” he said.  “That’s what it is.  Pathetic.”  He turned and walked slowly down the stream for twenty yards, splashed across it, and walked slowly back  on the other side.  Then he looked at himself in the water again.  “As I thought,” he said.  “No better from this side…

Eeyore has long been one of my favourite storybook characters.  I can so identify with his melancholic, pessimistic attitude.  The word “pathetic” came to mind as I walked around the bonfire we tried to build today.  I don’t know why I even tried.  I have never been very successful at building fires.  I wonder if I missed my calling in life.  Maybe I should have been a firefighter.  It seems that I just have to look at a fire and it starts to go out.  I tried hard today, bunching up all the newspaper I could find, stacking the sawed off branches in the firepit, dousing the whole works with lighter fluid a few times over but as usual, my efforts did not amount to much.  We managed to get a spectacular flame for a few seconds when more lighter fluid went on but then it was the same old crack, fizzle and smoke scenario.  Pathetic it was no matter what angle I looked at it from.  (The above photo was my effort at being a bit more optimistic about this idea.  The fire looked like this for all of about 30 seconds this morning.)

