I moved into a home that was already decorated.  The walls weren’t blank white canvasses just begging to be painted.  The walls were, in fact, awash with colours and the paint job was well done.  I have been trying very hard for the last month and a half to meld my things with what is already here.  For some reason, it just wasn’t working.  A few days ago, I realized why.  Although I was living in a lovely home, I felt like I was living in someone else’s home.  That someone else loved ornate things, cool colours, flowers and poufy valences.  That someone else just wasn’t me.

It was easy for me to paint P’s room.  No one in this culture could possibly expect a 10 year old boy to be happy living in a bubble gum pink room.  He swore that he would never have friends over unless it was changed.  It was my pleasure to make that room more masculine for him.  It was equally easy for me to paint the boys’ bathroom.  The fish border in there was peeling badly and I had paint on hand to redo it.  It was a bit more of a stretch for me to paint my ensuite bathroom.  I justified it saying that I needed to repair the holes in the walls and that since the previous owners hadn’t left any of that colour of paint behind it only made sense to repaint the whole room.  It started out periwinkle blue with an 80’s looking border edging the ceiling.  The border came down and now the room is a very relaxing beige.

The main floor rooms were a little harder to justify.  The entrance way and hall were two tones of blue-green.  The lighter tone was carried into the dining room.  A very pretty scalloped matching border and some poufy bergundy window toppings completed the look.  Everything coordinated, there was nary a ding and the holes left behind were easily patched and touched up with paint the previous owners graciously left for me.  I finally decided that I wanted to enjoy this home that I had purchased and in order to do that I had to redoecorate according to my own tastes no matter how unnecessary it really was.

The top parts of the hallway are now beige.  The black framed, white matted, sepia coloured photos I hung on it now look fantastic.  The bottom half will soon be a light brown.  I didn’t really know what I wanted to do in the dining room so I did something I have never done before.  I mixed three colours of left over paint together to make my own custom colour.  It worked better than I could have imagined.  The colour I ended up with is somewhere in between the rind of a butternut squash and glazed terra cotta.  (I always thought that it would be cool to have a job naming all those colours on paint tabs.  Now that I have created my own colour and have had a lot of trouble coming up with a suitable name for it, I’m not sure that would be the job for me!)  I couldn’t wait to get this colour up on the walls.  It was a real pleasure taking down those burgundy, poufy curtains.  I felt pretty good seeing how dusty they were and noting how faded they were on the reverse side.  Yeah, they really needed to come down.  It felt equally good taking down that super feminine floral border.  Two of the walls are now painted with my concocted colour and the third should be done by the end of the weekend.  It’s already starting to feel more like home – my home.

You would think that I would be tired of painting already.  Nope.  I’m not even finished this job and I’m already thinking of what to do with my magenta coloured living room.  It will likely end up a sage green colour.  Room by room I will lay claim to this home and make it mine!

