Easter morning is already pretty amazing apart from anything my boys decide to do.  This Easter Sunday while the rest of us were getting ready to go to church, D-11 was actively trying to trap a squirrel.  He had spent some time the two previous days hunting around my parent’s cast offs to find what he needed.  He ended up very excitedly using an old mail box, some elastic bands, a piece of wood and all the string he could find and tie together to make what he thought was the perfect squirrel trap.  When my parents and I arrived in the kitchen Easter morning, D-11 was crouched in the corner holding the string (which extended out through the patio doors and was attached to the spring loaded front end of the mail box trap) shushing us.  We were amazed to see that a squirrel was falling for the bait he had set out.  The squirrel was sitting on the spring loaded part.  D-11 was waiting for the furry critter to take just a few more steps inside.  The only problem at that point was that D-11 really needed to use the bathroom.  He was praying quite fervently that the furry critter in question would hurry up!  Finally he could take it no longer and enlisted myself and my Dad to keep watch for him while he took a quick bathroom break.  That quick break was all it took to miss the action.  The squirrel did move in further, my Dad pulled the string (which broke!) and the spring loaded part snapped!  Unfortunately, the squirrel was a bit like “Hammy” in “Over The Hedge”.  In other words, he was pretty quick.  He got a good surprise but he managed to jump out before the door snapped shut.  I’m sure that D-11 will try the next time he gets a chance to be at my Mom and Dad’s to perfect his perfect squirrel trap.  I just wonder what he’ll do if he actually manages to trap one…

