Every now and then you get a very real sense that God does see and that He does care.  Of course you know that to be true but sometimes He shows it to you just when you need it.  Today was one of those days.  For reasons I won’t go into, I was struggling all day to choose joy.  I knew that it was an option and that regardless of circumstances I could choose it but today it was an uphill battle and I didn’t seem to be making much progress or even very successfully holding my ground.  The old way of self-pity just kept getting in there and trying to get the upper hand.  At times like that you start to wonder, “God, do you really care that this is so hard for me?”  We all know that the answer to that is “yes” but sometimes He goes out of His way to show us.  A friend of mine picked up the boys from camp today.  That in itself was a blessing.  When D-10 burst through the door, he had a gift in his hand.  It was from my friend.  She had gone out of her way that day to get me a beautiful pot with Romans 15:13 printed on the side.  That verse has special meaning for me and it was as if God was gently telling me once again that He would fill me even in the circumstances I found myself. 

 Later in devotions after the evening meal we read Luke 11:9-13.  Again God reminded me that He does hear and that He doesn’t mock my requests.  He likens Himself to a parent that gives good gifts when His children ask.  It was a delight for me these last few days to buy gifts for D-10 who will soon be D-11.  It’s His delight to fill me with the wonderful gift of His Holy Spirit.  Those filled with the Spirit have lives filled with love, joy, peace, patience, kindness,goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.  What can be better than that?

